Tag Archives: Astra Books

Exclusive Cover Reveal: The Evolving Truth of Ever-Stronger Will by Maya MacGregor

Today on the site, we’re revealing the cover of The Evolving Truth of Ever-Stronger Will by Maya MacGregor, which releases July 18, 2023 from Astra Books for Young Readers! Here’s the story:

Will, an agender teen, struggles with the haunting aftermath of parental abuse as they forge a new life and love in this novel that is perfect for fans of If These Wings Could Fly and Last Night at the Telegraph Club.

Will is a 17-year-old on the cusp of freedom: freedom from providing and caring for their abusive, addicted mother, freedom from their small town with an even smaller mindset, and the freedom from having to hide who they truly are. When their drug dealer mother dies months before their 18th birthday, Will is granted their freedom earlier than expected. But their mother’s last words haunt Will: She cursed them with her dying breath, claiming her death was their fault. Soon their mother’s drug-dealing past threatens Will’s new shiny future, leaving Will scrambling to find their beloved former foster mother Raz before Child Protective Services or local drug dealers find them first. But how do you reconnect with family and embark on a new love when you’re convinced you destroy everything you touch?

And here’s the beautiful cover, designed by Barbara Grzeslo with art by Jem Milton!

Cover features a portrait. One half of the character's face is swallowed by flowers and leaves. The visible side of their face reveals curly brown hair, a single blue eye, a nose, and lips. Background behind the portrait is a purple gradient. The author's name, Maya MacGregor, is set at the top of the cover, with the title "The Evolving Truth of Ever-Stronger Will" displayed in white font beneath it.

Buy it: Amazon | IndieBound

(c) Max Crawford

Maya MacGregor is a writer, singer, and artist. Maya sings and writes in Gàidhlig and in English. You can find their bilingual work on tor.com, in Steall magazine (summer 2020), and Uncanny magazine, with poetry in Poets’ Republic and elsewhere. The Many Half-Lived Lives of Sam Sylvester, which earned three starred reviews and was a 2022 Kirkus Best Book, was their debut young adult novel.